No words

This may be my last entry…

I had a haircut today and I really appreciated it. Not because of the skill involved, not because I look less shaggy and a little more human but because it was done in silence. A rare treat in a distracted world.

I’m not averse to conversation even though I have never rated myself as a conversationalist but I can truly appreciate it when someone just shuts the hell up and gets on with it. I don’t want to talk to a stranger about the kind of day I’ve just had and I really don’t want to know what their day has been like, I just want to get lost in my thoughts as my hair miraculously gets shorter and neater. I don’t want to discuss fictional holiday destinations that I have just made up on the spot because I’m not ‘going anywhere nice for my holidays this year’ but don’t want to look  like I’m not. If I explain I’ll be going to Download Festival I usually have to either explain what it is, defend my choices or explain what it is and then defend my choices. It doesn’t end in the barbers either.

I don’t want to discuss current affairs with you if I don’t know or respect your political views – just drive me to my destination and I’ll pay you anyway. Hell, if you keep your opinions to yourself I’ll give you a healthy tip! Stay within your boundaries people, there is very little chance we are leaving this transaction as friends!

Now don’t get me wrong, I understand the importance of customer service – I worked in the hospitality and service industry for years – but I just want to left alone most of the time.

So, here’s to the silent barber, the reflective cabbie and the restrained barman. Good on you folks.


 

In other news I have ‘invested’ in a new webcam and mic today so expect amateur, shitty videos to be uploaded to the audio/visual clusterfuck that is Youtube in the coming weeks and months until someone stops or arrests me.

Thanks for reading now shut up and leave me alone.

Leave a Reply

