Game of Netflix

This may be my last entry…

I subscribe to Netflix. I do this because of the enormous guilt I feel when it comes to downloading films but there are two major problems:

  1. The lack of decent content
  2. The lack of comprehensive browsing

Essentially, I pay my monthly fee to spend virtually no time watching Netflix because I can’t find anything I want to watch. I spend a lot more time looking at the things that are on Netflix than I do watching the things that are on Netflix. I can spend hours browsing the limited content and thinking ‘I could watch that’ before noticing a related item that appeals to me more. once I’ve clicked on that I will spot another more interesting related item and so on ad nauseam.

In defence of Netflix, I keep hearing people say:

I would get Netflix but ‘Game of Thrones’ isn’t on it.

Which strikes me as an incredibly odd thing to say. Surely if you are that interested in watching ‘Game of Thrones’ you are already watching it any way? Currently, to the best of my knowledge, there are no streaming services that have Game of Thrones. You can probably buy it from Google Play or iTunes but they don’t stream it as part of a package. You may as well say ‘I would get Netflix but until they start streaming Jamie and the Magic Torch I don’t see the point’ – they don’t, they probably won’t, but that isn’t the only TV show ever made. Whenever I hear that argument I wonder whether they boycott every TV channel other than Sky Atlantic on the same grounds?

– Did you watch that documentary on why people are mysteriously addicted to ‘Game of Thrones’ last night?

-No, it was on BBC2 and I don’t watch that, it doesn’t have Game of Thrones on it.

Broaden your horizons people, just don’t expect to do it on Netflix unless you have a few free hours to wade through the content.

Thanks for reading, now sod off – winter is coming.*
*Please don’t comment about Game of Thrones, I don’t like it and I don’t watch it.

Leave a Reply

