Pain in the Ball

This may be my last entry…

This evening my eye started to hurt really badly. Actually, it wasn’t my eye it was a pain behind my eye that came on and throbbed in its own time; that is to say that the throb didn’t match my heartbeat but was more based on its own cycle. Immediately I started to panic – of course I did. There were only two available options: it was a worsening or exacerbation of symptoms or a new symptom entirely. There was a third option of course – it could just be a headache – this option was ignored for convenience.

The pain began when the cat accidentally opened the curtains which I had closed to avoid the strong glare from the sun which caused the sun to shine straight into my eye. I did the whole mogwai thing and shouted ‘bright light, bright light’ before closing the curtain but the damage had already been done.

Mrs CthuIu came back from her trip away to find me having recently taken some paracetamol and heading towards a panic attack. Once the ache had calmed slightly I was able to check the internet for clues as to whether I should go to hospital and I found something really interesting:

From www.migrainetrust.org:

“A person with hemiplegic migraine will experience a temporary weakness on one side of their body as part of their migraine attack. This can involve the face, arm or leg and be accompanied by numbness, or pins and needles. The person may experience speech difficulties, vision problems or confusion. This can be a frightening experience for the individual as these symptoms are similar to those of a stroke. This weakness may last from one hour to several days, but usually it goes within 24 hours. The head pain associated with migraine typically follows the weakness, but the headache may precede it or be absent.”

Really? This whole thing could just be an out of control migraine? I’ve never had one before so why the hell not?

The pain is still here and so is the numbness/weakness so I’m not calling it just yet but it’s a ray of hope in an otherwise dark mindset. I know a few migraine sufferers so I don’t say this lightly but I genuinely hope I’m having a migraine right now, I think I could handle that!

Thanks for reading, now pass the migraleve and sod off!

Leave a Reply

