MM Oh

This may be my last entry…

For my own safety I haven’t been out of the house in a while so, as you can probably imagine, there hasn’t been much to inspire me recently. Couple this with the fact that I don’t want my blog to be a ‘My battle with condition X’ journal and I’m struggling to find things to write about.

Ummm…

A couple of years ago, Mrs CthuIu became mildly obsessed with Skyrim but I was never totally convinced by it or any of it’s predecessors. My big issue with it is that I can’t help but feel I’m missing something all of the time. I’m not the biggest fan of fantasy settings anyway – I’ve got enough crap to remember about the real world let alone one that someone else has made up – but this one makes you make decisions which in turn affect the outcome of the game. Are you good? Are you bad? Do you want to be a Vampire? I dunno, I’m playing this game to avoid having to make big decisions in my real life. What if I make the wrong choice? What if I pretend I’m an asshole and then can’t keep it up?

It’s too hard to choose – do it for me!

I think this goes for a lot of Bethesda’s games too. I don’t really want to think about it, I just want to get on with it.

Obviously, bearing this in mind, it would be ridiculous for me to get a game that melds two of my least favourite things right? How stupid would I have to be to buy a game that is built around moral decisions and being social?

The Elder Scrolls Online (ESO) is exactly that and I have been merrily playing it for about a week now. I can’t say that I understand (or give a crap about) the lore or that I even pay any attention to the rest of the online community but I’m actually kind of enjoying it. It has received quite a lot of criticism since it’s initial release but I think the things people hate are almost exactly the things that make it playable for me but I have my criticisms too.

I used to play World of Warcraft but I was never a slave to it. I avoided big dungeon runs because I can’t give that kind of time to anything that doesn’t increase my bank balance. What I enjoyed most was going solo and playing the game at my own pace. I’d take out entire sessions where I would hunt animals for skin or seek out nodes to mine while completely ignoring the character progression or levelling. Weirdly though I miss the grind element in ESO – you are pretty much bound to a linear quest train and going off to kill stuff for experience or profit just seems either pointless or impossible.

I’m gong to persevere though and see what happens. Maybe this will be the first of this kind of game I bond with (full disclosure, I do actually quite enjoy the Fallout series but still feel a bit disconnected from it).

Sorry if that was all a bit gamy, naive and crap but it’s what was on my mind.

Thanks for reading now Goodbye

Leave a Reply

