Hell’s Bells #2

This may be my last entry…

I wasn’t expecting a diagnosis today but I got one anyway. I have Bell’s Palsy – yeah, the one I thought it was in the first place. I’m not going to complain about the uncertainty though because it has helped me make some important decisions about my health and general well-being.

The whole appointment today was very satisfying; not least because I had it confirmed that I haven’t had a stroke (mini or otherwise) but because it meant I met some interesting people.

The nurse took my blood pressure, height and weight and then jumped through hoops trying to work out my weight in stones and pounds. She was wrong but I’m not going to fault her diligence. The next guy was really interesting. He did an ECG on me and in the space of a maximum of 10 minutes but more like 5 we talked about the history of my surname (Kennedy), the circumstances surrounding the assassination of JFK, the assassination of Lee Harvey Oswald, the assassination of Anwar Sadat and the peace he brokered with Israel. He was, as you can probably gather, Egyptian and had basically no knowledge of American history. He asked me if Kennedy was a white man, who assassinated him and if they caught the assassin quickly. He was a genuinely nice bloke and I could have talked to him for hours.

Once all the preliminary tests were out of the way I saw the doctor and he went out of his way to help me. He seemed pretty impressed with the research I had done and we were able to talk through the options without him having to sugar-coat anything.

So there it is – I’m not a ‘victim of’ or ‘survivor of’ which is something I had been dreading, instead I am a ‘bloke with’ and I can just let the healing happen in its own time and stop worrying about what the future will hold.

It’s my birthday tomorrow and ‘not a stroke’ is a great present to receive.

Thanks for reading now raise a glass to the NHS, the best of the best.

Leave a Reply

