The Conversation Politic

This may be my last entry…

“It’s never a good idea to discuss religion or politics with people you don’t really know.” Agree or disagree?

dailypost.wordpress.com

Wha? Really?

See, I don’t discuss anything with people I don’t really know. I just drop gobbets of venom like raindrops from a leaf and listen for the sharp intake of breath or murmurs of consent. Then and only then will I take the conversation further.

I try not to discuss religion if I can avoid it but I can’t let ignorance go unchallenged. I can’t let people hide behind an outdated book when they spout their usual intolerant claptrap. Dribbling the words of an ancient, fearful and ill-educated culture into the post-enlightened era like so many wasps at a special family picnic. God hasn’t told you to be homophobic – you came to that conclusion by yourself. Listen to your own hypocrisy and think carefully about whether you are in any position to cast that first stone.

If I can at all avoid it – bearing in mind it is election time in the UK – I try not to talk about politics at all. We all kind of want the same things in life so why drive a semantic wedge between yourself and your peers. That said, I also won’t tolerate purple polemic and will actively shun those who feel the need to jerk their knee at any given statement. “There are too many immigrants but not enough medical staff to support the NHS!” they scream – “There are too many single teenage mothers but don’t force our kids to endure sex education in schools – it’s immoral!” – “I want things to change but I can’t be bothered voting!”. I shake my head, I can’t hack it, it just makes me angry. Step outside of your pathetic ivory towers for a moment and realise you don’t get another chance at this ride. You could have spent so much more of your time helping and not hindering and when you’re dead you’re done and it’s all too late for your legacy to be anything but piss in the wind.

So I suppose my answer is this: Shut up, I don’t want to talk about it with you unless you realise it’s all for nothing any way. I won’t change your mind, you won’t change mine – we are exclusively ourselves and we should rejoice in our uniqueness. Sure, I’ll make atheistic statements and debunk pseudo-science on this blog but it’s not a discussion is it? I’ll probably take a stance on something a little moderate from time to time as well but it’s only my opinion and I have no intention of using my opinions as a weapon. You can disagree with me all you want and we can still be friends but start shouting the odds and I will close the door and say goodbye.

Usually these daily prompts offer the chance to write a bit of a puff piece (I mean that without malice – they can be quite inspiring) but this has been a tough one – take a look at the link and see what other people have written – there is enough there to inspire, shock and disgust even the hardiest of religio-political analysts!

Thanks for reading now let’s shake hands and to slightly paraphrase the immortal bard:

“If we shadows have offended,
Think but this, and all is mended —
That you have but slumbered here
While these visions did appear.
And this weak and idle theme,
No more yielding but a dream,
Gentles, do not reprehend.
If you pardon, we will mend.
And, as I am an honest Puck,
If we have unearnèd luck
Now to ’scape the serpent’s tongue,
We will make amends ere long.
Else the Puck a liar call.
So good night unto you all.
Give me your hands if we be friends,
And CthuIu shall restore amends.”

Leave a Reply

