When Illnesses Gang Up

This may be my last entry…

…Again that feels like a bad way to start a blog entry about my health.

As I mentioned yesterday, I felt a bit rough. It didn’t go away and then I got up in the middle of the night and saw that there was blood in my pee! Yep, this crap just got serious!

It was way too late at night/early in the morning to do anything but look up what that might be a symptom of and get some more sleep. I woke up, called work and then called the doctor to make an appointment.

The doctor took a urine sample and told me that even though it looked a better colour than the previous night, there was still blood in there and I had an infection. She wanted to send me to hospital but I didn’t want that and said I would monitor myself go if it got any worse. Apparently I would have been immediately hospitalised if my temperature was 38°C or above but it was 37.9°C so I just about got away with it.

I must admit I am feeling terrible at the moment but no worse than I did this morning. I’ve been given antibiotics and I need to go back to the Doctors on Friday to get full test results on the urine.

My thinking (in part corroborated by the doctor) is that the Steroids I was taking for Bell’s Palsy had turned a minor infection – that would have otherwise passed through my system unnoticed – into a Lance Armstrong style super-infection that could have caused some real damage had I not got it checked. Steroids are known for their ability to suppress the immune system and I am diabetic too so that doesn’t help.

What I can tell you is that I am in pain and I feel feverish. I would not recommend whatever this is and it’s going to get a really bad review on TripAdvisor when I get round to it!

Thanks for reading, now keep the fluids topped up and take the full course of your antibiotics – don’t stop just because you’re feeling better.

Leave a Reply

