The Weekend #NotMyWeekend

This may be my last entry…

Listen up immune system – you need to shape up. I get it – I spent way too much time eating, not exercising and doing all those bad things that lead to disaster. I suppose you can blame brain for that. Apparently he really enjoys serotonin*. In fact, he loves it so much that he couldn’t get enough of the stuff and made the rest of us really unhappy. It turns out that self-medication may have been fun while it lasted but my body couldn’t handle it. If only I’d known!

So here’s the situation: you’re all ‘aw maaaan, I’m feeling really suppressed at the moment’ and I’m all ‘I’ve got so much to do, I can’t have any downtime’ and my white cell count is like ‘dude, these antibiotics are making me low so screw you, have a sore throat as a side effect!’

Between you all and the housework, you’ve really buzz-killed my entire weekend and I’ve got to go back to work tomorrow!

Here’s what we’re going to do:

We’re going to relax and have a great night’s sleep. I’ll pop a couple of paracetamol to see if we can get rid of a bit of this throat pain and leave you and the antibiotics to take care of the e-coli. Once that’s sorted out I’ll treat you to a whole bunch of cycling, walking and dancing in fields – hell, I’ll even eat more fresh fruit and vegetables! What do you say? I know if we pull together we can achieve some pretty cool things.

So come on immune system, buck up and you and me can have some fun again!

Thanks for reading, now I’ll try to stop whining on about my health.

*The link between low serotonin levels and depression is now in dispute but, given that exercise has a positive effect on serotonin production and uptake and makes me feel better, I’m sticking with it for now.

Leave a Reply

