Good Times

This may be my last entry…

I had an excellent day today. A good day at work was followed by an impromptu pint in The Wellington. The day just called for it and I had nowhere special to be.

I really like The Wellington but it’s not always top of the destination list for me. It certainly helps that they have an open air roof area for when the weather turns nice. Thinking about it, I’d be hankering for a pint of ale since Monday afternoon but I had other commitments that prevented me. As happenstance would have it Dave fancied a pint too so what more excuse did I need?

After I sent a photograph to Mrs CthuIu to show her that I was in the pub she jumped on a train to join us.

After a couple of pints (I had the Titanic Plum Porter which was plummy, fruity and deliciously dark) we decided to hit Minmin for noodles. Minmin is a great little noodle bar not far from Birmingham’s Hurst Street. It offers a great selection of Asian dishes at good prices and the staff are always polite and friendly. I can’t recommend it highly enough (and neither can The Guardian).

I joked about walking home which would have taken a good hour and we were all full and on a 4 pint buzz so we got the train.

I always love nights like that where nothing is planned and everyone ends up having a great time. We had a lot of laughs and that’s the one thing I love the most. Life is too short to sit in front of a TV watching moribund crap – get out and make things happen. Some will be bad but most will be brilliant and you’ll be glad you didn’t miss it.

Thanks for reading, now get out there and have a laugh!

Leave a Reply

