Cue Lights, Sound Rolling

This may be my last entry…

Hey everyone, turns out your lights and shut up. Yeah, you too. And me.

There seems to be a bit of an epidemic of people lighting up areas that they aren’t in. If you look down the row of back gardens on my street you will see a rash of solar fairy lights lighting up the place so that all those people that aren’t there can look at the flowers that they can’t see. It means that it’s always lighter than it should be and the overall light pollution levels increase. In turn it means that all the astronomers that are there can’t see the stars that they are trying to see.

Why are they doing it? What’s the point? Ok, I admit it can be pretty but if a light goes on in a garden and there is no-one there to see it, what problem does it solve? One of my neighbours spends about 2/3 of her time living elsewhere but I have to put up with those lights 3/3 of the time!

Then we come to noise. Just shut up! Hey, you in the car, I don’t wan’t to hear how loud you can play your lowest common-denominator crap. Hey, shop, I don’t want to hear your carefully crafted and oh so up-to-the-second crappy playlist – I’ve got my headphones on anyway for christ sake. Hey, douche on public transport, I don’t want to hear your urban shitfest dripping unpleasantly from your phone – get some headphones not a portable speaker you dick. Does anyone remember silence? I’m pretty sure I don’t.

There have been rare moments in my life where I have experienced almost absolute silence and I can understand why people would want to fill it – it’s terrifying! That said though, I truly appreciate those times when there are people around but they are being contemplative or reading or doing something quiet – that’s when I feel like I can relax and think. I suppose some of my happiest times in terms of quiet are when it’s just me and my computer and the tip-tap of the keys as I write. Bliss!

I’ll leave you with a passage from Douglas Adams’s Hitch Hiker’s Guide to the Galaxy which sums up exactly how I feel:

One of the things Ford Prefect had always found hardest to understand about humans was their habit of continually stating and repeating the very very obvious, as in It’s a nice day, or You’re very tall, or Oh dear you seem to have fallen down a thirty-foot well, are you all right? At first Ford had formed a theory to account for this strange behavior. If human beings don’t keep exercising their lips, he thought, their mouths probably seize up.

After a few months’ consideration and observation he abandoned this theory in favor of a new one. If they don’t keep on exercising their lips, he thought, their brains start working. After a while he abandoned this one as well as being obstructively cynical and decided he quite liked human beings after all, but he always remained desperately worried about the terrible number of things they didn’t know about.

Douglas Adams (1952 -2001) The Hitch Hiker’s Guide to the Galaxy

Thanks for reading, now shhhhhhhhhh

Leave a Reply

