Booking Time

This may be my last entry…

I’m going to read a book.

Yes, that’s right.

I’m going to read a book from cover to cover!

I know that sounds pretty lame but I’m having a really hard time doing it. I used to read as much as possible but now I just watch TV and write and that doesn’t help me out. With that in mind, I am going to start a book and keep going until one of the following situations occurs:

  1. I finish it
  2. I get so frustrated at it that it would serve me better to stop reading it and start another book

Item 1 would be favourite but I know from bitter experience that life is too short for bad books.

How does this affect my blog? Well, I’ll add details of what I have read to each post for the duration of the book – think of it as a live blogging event.

My comfort zone is pretty narrow so I want to step out of it slightly and go for something a little more challenging than normal. I have found that if I do that without being too challenged, I usually find something interesting to read. This time, after a cursory glance at my ‘to read’ pile, I am going to go with Charles Spencer’s Killers of the Kings. It’s a non-fiction account of the execution of Charles I and the subsequent revenge taken by Charles II. Looks like it might be a cracker but I’m pretty much going by it’s cover (I’m sure I’ve heard you aren’t supposed to do that).

First report will be tomorrow when I can decide what format it should take!

Thanks for reading, now umm thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

