Watch it again, Sam

This may be my last entry…

I didn’t get round to watching Casablanca until I was in my early 30’s. If you still haven’t, what the hell is wrong with you?!

When I did finally get round to watching it I discovered that it was almost entirely made up of famous quotes. There were practically no scenes that hadn’t, in some way at least, entered pop culture. Think about it for a moment. There are so many oft-quoted and equally oft-misquoted lines:

“Play it again, Sam” (a famous misquote but a popular one nonetheless)
“Of all the gin joints in all the towns in all the world…”
“This may be the start of a beautiful friendship.”
“We’ll always have Paris”
“Here’s looking at you, kid”
“…the problems of three little people don’t amount to a hill of beans in this crazy world.”
“Maybe not today, maybe not tomorrow, but soon and for the rest of your life.”

The last four of those are from the same 1 minute scene! Ably outlined in the following video:

With Terminator: Genisys (sadly not a movie about the destruction of Phil Collins and his cronies) hitting the cinema, Mrs CthuIu has decided that now would be a good time for her to finally watch the first two movies (you know, the good ones – the ones Jim Cameron gave a toss about).

I saw ‘The Terminator” when it was released on VHS back in 1984/5 and I was at a very impressionable age. I was certainly too young for it and I snuck downstairs once my parents had gone to bed to watch it with the sound as low as I could tolerate it. I loved it immediately and I have continued to love it all my life. There is something about that movie which I find incredibly special to me, maybe even more so than Star Wars!

As we watched it this evening ,I couldn’t help but think that it must be like Casablanca to Mrs CthuIu – it is so quotable and most of the rest of Arnold Schwarzenegger’s career has been impacted by it:

“I’ll be back!”
“Your clothes, give them to me”
“Get out!”
“Fuck you, asshole!”
“You’re terminated, fucker!”
“Come with me if you want to live!”

Ok, sure, it doesn’t have the eloquence of Casablanca but a quote is a quote and some of those will ricochet through history in exactly the same way Casablanca does.

Sadly, just as some of the mystique of Casablanca has been lost through endless quoting and parody, The Terminator has lost some of it’s impact. When I first saw it all those years ago, I had barely even heard of it and certainly didn’t know anything about it. I had no clue which was the bad guy until the scene in TechNoir – I know, hard to believe right? If you watch it with the idea that the 2 guys could be working together it actually changes the complexion of the first few scenes. It’s almost unfathomable that I couldn’t know but I swear that the intention was to have that as an early twist. Just me? Fine.

I’m pretty sure Mrs CthuIu enjoyed it and even if she didn’t appreciate it in the same way as I did, she will; maybe not today, maybe not tomorrow but soon and for the rest of her life.

Next up will be T2: Judgement Day which is arguably the Godfather 2 of Sci-Fi. I can’t wait!

Thanks for reading, now play it, Sam. Play “As Time Goes By”.

Leave a Reply

