Buzz buzz buzz in the drum of the ear

This may be my last entry…

Today I read about the semi-colon project. I’m usually the last to know about this kind of thing so, if you haven’t seen it already, it’s worth taking a look at.

Like around 25% of the UK population I suffer from a mental illness. In my case it is depression and, as far as I can tell, I keep it pretty well controlled. I haven’t taken anything for it for years and I function pretty well. At the moment I am in a pretty stable state and everything seems to be going well. I know though that I could spiral at any second though and Mrs CthuIu, along with my close circle of friends, are always willing (if not exactly happy) to lend me support when I need it the most. I know others that are in a far worse position than me and I know how tough it can be.

Depression, like pretty much any mental illness, is a difficult topic for discussion for a large number of people. The unenlightened tend to think that it is just self-indulgent whining and that we should just ‘snap-out of it’ but in truth it is a much more debilitating illness than they could know. If you are one of those people who think we should just pull our socks up, remember to tell the same thing to the next person you see with diabetes or cancer. It’s a treatable disease but a disease nonetheless.

In the US it is even harder to discuss mental health and this brings me back to Project Semicolon. Project Semicolon is a faith-based (but don’t let that put you off) non-profit organisation that aim to provided ‘hope and love’ but more importantly helplines for those struggling with mental illness. Their idea is a simple one: draw or tattoo a semi-colon on yourself. The reason for this is, in my mind, a beautiful thing:

“A semicolon is used when an author could’ve chosen to end their sentence, but chose not to. The author is you and the sentence is your life.”

Project Semicolon

Brilliant idea and well put.

Now, just to be clear, I fully endorse the work done by these guys and the sentiment of the semicolon art/tattoos but not the faith part – when things have got really bad for me I have never needed a religious crutch to get me through.


Over the last few days I have had a persistent twitch in my inner ear which has been annoying the bejeebers out of me. I can’t seem to find out what it is but I think it probably means my ear canal is blocked. A quick search of the internet immediately told me it was probably MS so I’m going to ride it out and, if it doesn’t go away in the next couple of days, I’ll hit the doctors and see what they think.

Thanks for reading, now ;

Leave a Reply

