Oh just fu…

This may be my last entry…

Previously on Conniving the Cuttlefish:

retro gaming!…
I always loved the classic C&C…
strategy and warfare to come…

Opening credits

I hate the way TV is formatted now. It makes me want to scream. We don’t live in a world where people have to patiently wait for the next episode any more; there are plenty of other options out there. Personally, I generally prefer to Sky+ a whole series and then box-set it all in one go or wait until it’s on Netflix. It’s pretty much my normal way of viewing things now; it helps me to avoid commercials and I get to watch as little or as much as I want without having to wait for the next episode. I’m not alone in this either – Sky (reeeaaaallllly not a sponsor) are even advertising the virtues of the box-set:

So, why do TV series continue to run in the stupid current format:

  • Previously on…
  • Opening credits…
  • Current episode (the bit I give a shit about)
  • Next time on…

I’ve probably just seen the previous episode so I know exactly what preceded this episode. Now I’m going to have to fast forward and probably end up either sitting through some of the eternally unchanging and oh-so-clever opening credits or missing the first few lines of dialogue because I stopped too early/late. Get in the sea you idiots!

Thanks for the current episode, I kind of enjoyed it. I might stop watching now for a bit – I hope nobody gives me any spoilers…

Next time on…

– The murderer was Brenda?!

You bastards!

Here’s an idea: just make the episode good enough for me to want to watch the next one. You don’t have to piece together a compendium of the best bits of the next episode to keep me hooked – in most cases I’ll just work out what’s going to happen from the information you’ve given me and decide that I can’t be arsed with it any more.

It’s stupid, outdated and annoying, stop it!

Thanks for reading, now: Next time on Conniving the Cuttlefish…

Ranty rant rant…
Mrs CthuIu just did a mindblowing p…
…turns out it’s early-onset bum-hornets!

Leave a Reply

