Just one more thing…

This may be my last entry…

I went for a follow up appointment for my Bells Palsy episode (several entries passim) and was given the all clear! It went after about 2 weeks so that was pretty much a given but gratifying any way. I mentioned that the steroids had caused further issues but said it wasn’t a problem – there was no way either of us could have known about a tiny underlying infection. And that was the appointment over until…

Me: While I’m here, and given your speciality, can I ask a quick question?
Doctor: Sure
Me: I have this weird thing that happens very occasionally. From out of nowhere and at seemingly random times, I get this weird popping sensation at the back of my head.
Doctor: That sounds odd, I’ve never heard that before.
Me: Yeah, I thought that too and I haven’t found anything like it on the internet.
Doctor: Right, I’ll order an MRI for you and get your brain scanned.

So, yeah, that happened.

In all fairness to him, my Mum did have a calcified aneurysm in her brain so anything like this in me could be a problem. I’m positive I will be fine and the scan will come back clear but it’s interesting nevertheless. The doctor reckons that about 1 in 5 scans reveal an abnormality that will have no impact at all but I’m sure, despite coming from the shallow end of the gene pool, I’ll be one of the 4 normal scans and the popping will just be like cracking your knuckles but in the head/neck joint.

I’m not sure when the scan will be but I’m intrigued.

Thanks for reading now, stay as still as you can please.

Leave a Reply

