Fallout: New Vomit

This may be my last entry…

What fresh hell is this? I now get motion sickness from video games!

With Fallout 4 on its way, I decided that I would revisit Fallout 3 and Fallout: New Vegas. I don’t usually get on with Bethesda games but there is something perfectly post-apocalyptic-western about the Fallout series that I love. There is a very specific kind of dark, almost gallows, humour in there that keeps me intrigued and happy and enough suspense to make me actually scream in a pathetically girly fashion from time to time.

So, today, as I wended my merry way through the wasteland, firing away at the bad guys, I noticed, for the second time, that I was getting nauseous. It’s happened before recently with the same game which I ignored as a possible effect of my current stomach issues but this time I had exactly the same feeling of nausea that I had before. I’m getting motion sickness!

The last time a game gave me motion sickness was back in the 90s with the original Doom and that only happened once so this has come as a bit of a surprise. I’ll have to try out other games and see if it is a new ongoing issue or just confined to the Fallout series.

A brief bit of research on the internet has shown me that I’m not alone in this and that it might be worth playing in 3rd person rather than 1st and that I should use the mouse/keyboard combo instead of an Xbox 360 controller. I’ll have to experiment and see what happens.

Thanks for reading, now pass me A bottle of Nuke Cola and some Rad-X. This is going to be a long journey.

Leave a Reply

