A pair of shorts

This may be my last entry…

Absurdly, I am still having massive problems with reading. I think it’s becoming a bit of a thing now and I’m sabotaging myself.

I have been reading a book of facts which is fine but it’s not very enriching – there is no plot or character development, just potential self-improvement. I started on Jed Rubenfeld’s ‘The Interpretation of Murder’ last night and, while I can see it has early merits, I knew straight away that there was no way I was going to settle into it.

How do I cure myself of this decline in reading? Well, I’m not sure. Part of me thinks I need to go back to basics and work my way up so I think I’m going to try short stories and work my way through novellas into full-blown novels again. I will try to intersperse it with longer form reportage books and see how I go. I know I can do it if I put some effort in.

In other news my leave for next week has been agreed and now I need to work out what I’m going to do. The plan is to go camping but I’ll have to see what happens.

Thanks for reading, now where’s that book of Bond shorts?

Leave a Reply

